top of page
  • Cristina

MY “GRIEF TOOL KIT” – 10 RESOURCES FOR KEEPING THE CRAZY MOSTLY AT BAY

Updated: Mar 29, 2020

📷

(Originally posted on the old site May 1, 2018.)

  1. Option B: Facing Adversity, Building Resilience, and Finding Joy – Book by Sheryl Sandberg– The Facebook COO’s story after losing her husband unexpectedly.  This is the only book on grief that didn’t sound like it would make me even sadder.OptionB.org– The community based on the book. It includes resources for supporting someone else experiencing loss. Walking With God Through Pain and Suffering– Book by Tim Keller– Tim’s approach is very thorough and intellectual.The Upside of Stress: Why Stress Is Good for You, and How to Get Good at It– Book Kelly McGonical- Dr. McGonical analyzes the physiological and psychological ways we respond to stress.  She also has a TED talk.1,000 Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are– Book by Ann Voskamp– A great tool for practicing gratitude. I read the original, gave my copy (and 2 others) of it away, and am working through the devotional version. The Way of Abundance: A 60 Day Journey Into A Deeply Meaningful Life- Devotional by Ann Voskamp– I’ve been listening to it on Audible.com–especially before bed–as reminder that abundance comes out of brokenness.Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace in His Presence– Devotional by Sarah Young– Beautiful reminders not to freak out, of Who is really in charge.Reclaiming the Lost Art of Biblical Meditation– Book by Robert J. Morgan– This book explains the daily practice that is the source of my strength.Empty Cradle San Diego– Steve and I attended a few of the grief groups to help me find community when I felt isolated during my second pregnancy. HopeMommies.org– A faith-based resource for those who have lost a baby.Enough people have asked me how they can support a friend through a loss that I figure it warrants a series of posts with my answer.  To start, here are some books and resources that have given me perspective (read: kept me sane!) after Maverick died.

bottom of page